25 February 1918

S. Hilda’s Hall,

Oxford.

25.2.18

                My dear Mother,

Ever so many thanks for your letter and the parcel, and also for the photo.  I was very thankful for the jam, as I have just finished both my jam and my marmalade, also my cocoa.  Could I please have some more of the latter?  Also will you please send me one of those ends of red wool off my jersey, as another seam has split, this time under the arm – also a pocket.  The jam pasties are delicious, and also the buns, which unfortunately got rather shattered, but the fragments were just as nice.  The cake I have not touched yet, but it will be a real godsend, as I shall be entertaining quite a lot this week.  I want to give a first year cocoa this week as well as make up a few polite ones.

I have been taking things easily this last week.  I had my breakfast in bed for three mornings running, and went to bed directly after dinner on two evenings.  But at the same time I kept my average up to 7 hrs a day.  I have decided, however, not to cut any more social affairs.  I have been so really interested in my work lately that I have cut practically every thing else.

Last week was C.U.1 Finance Week.  Every body has been doing everyone else’s odd jobs in order to collect money – cleaning bycicles [sic], making beds on Sunday mornings, mending garments, etc. etc.  Also a model laundry was set up, and a dancing class established.  Our babies, Betty, Marjorie and Mary Mac (McClelland) got up a “Bronco Bill” performance, consisting of a “picture” cowboy play, and some ordinary songs, assisted by a comb band.  It was open to the first year only, and was rippingly well done!  The other years were jealous, and some bright spirit blockaded the door, while other people kept appearing with mock messages from the B. that we were making too much row, must go to bed, etc, etc.

On Saturday we had a fancy dress dance which was great sport, as being all girls, we could do exactly what we liked in the way of costume.  I got Mephi. to a T. with the aid of a weird collection of scarlet garments.  I discovered some red stockings in the property box, and used the skirt of my poppy dress for “continuations”.  Joyce sewed me up, and the effect was so good that everyone wanted to know where I got a complete costume from.  I borrow(sic) some effective jewellery and made up my face so effectively, that Joyce declared I quite frightened her!  We acted the “Sorrows of Satan” before a mirror afterwards.  Jacynth Poignard got first prize for the best representation as Scrooge.  She just was it, night-cap, expression, and all. The prize for the most effective costume went to our theological student, who appeared as a Bacchante, and pirouetted in the midst of the dancers with great effect.  She really had done it awfully well, with the aid of a leopard skin fur and a bed cover.

I am afraid I cannot go to the end of term without more money.  I have just 5/- left, and have not yet paid for my Bach Choir music.  Would you please ask Daddie, if he has a moment to spare on Sunday, to write to me and tell me what the Labour Party2 has been up to?  Ethel writes me a letter full of it, and I have missed it altogether.

Your loving daughter, Margot.

1CU – Christian Union, evangelical student Christian society.

2?

Next letter to be posted on 3 March 2015

