25 May 1918

S. Hilda’s Hall,

Oxford,

25.5.18.

                My dear Mother,

Many thanks for your letter and parcel.  Everything travelled quite safely, including the tea and the corals.  The key does belong to my bag.  I remember now that I hung it under the latch key on the dresser so that it might be quite safe, and then promptly forgot all about it.  The cake will be invaluable, as Ethel is coming this week end, and I shall want plenty of grub.  I am sorry you had such a bad time on Sunday night.  Was any damage done near us?  I am glad you were home, though for the kid’s sake.  I wish that beggar Jack Stanton could contrive to come home during the vac.  I rather want to see him.  I am glad to hear that Laurie Bunce has been exchanged.  I hope he is not a hopeless case.  If all goes well I shouldn’t wonder if we hear of an engagement soon.

I cannot get any certain news of the Pensions Office yet.  I have pledged myself to go for a month either before or after the Bank Holiday week.  The man who is arranging wants to stick out for 35/- per week, and wants to bag one of the training colleges as hostel.  That would, of course, only be possible in August.  At present he just wants to know the probable numbers.  So I am afraid I cannot say anything more definite at present2.

I got a pair of white canvass slippers, with instep strap, for 4/11½ on my way home on Saturday.  They had laced shoes at the same price, but with toe-caps, which I was afraid would hurt, so I chose the others instead.  My white jumper came back from the wash with the blue stripe trimming almost exactly the same colour as the shirt, so now they are quite satisfactory together.

Hughie says I may try for my punt whole at the end of next week!  I feel very bucked.  Todd also says I can try for my boat half before the end of term.  I am going to row during the rest of the term, having decided I can get there all right.  Isabel and I are going to canoe to the Long Bridges bathing place on Tuesday, and bathe there before breakfast.  This afternoon I am taking Ethel in a punt  with Edith, and in a canoe with Muriel this evening.

I mustn’t write any more now, as I am just off to do some shopping before I meet Ethel.  Please give my dearest love to Daddie and Max, and also to the Faulkner family.  Please tell Mrs Faulkner I practised 2½ hrs on Thursday afternoon.  Don’t worry about Grandma, she will settle down in time.

Your loving daughter

Margot.

1Jack and Laurie – are these friends called up to fight in the war?  There is surprisingly little about the terrible death toll of Margot’s contemporaries in the killing fields of World War I.

2She’s very enterprising to be earning money in her vacation.  It would be very interesting to know how many of her contemporaries did the same.  She later refers to one or two people she meets at work.

3Margot’s practising may have been either violin or piano or both.  It sounds as if Mrs Faulkner has taught her

Next letter to be posted on 4 June 2015.

