27 June 1918

 S. Hilda’s Hall,

Oxford.

27.6.18

                My dear Mother,

I am so sorry that p.c. was late, but I found it in my case long after I thought I had posted it.  Please put my confusion of mind down to H.P.  We had very nice papers on the first day, but on the second morning I had a touch of plague in the middle of the morning paper, and was altogether abominably slow over that paper and the afternoon one.  Accordingly I feel very depressed and am certain I am going to plough!  Please prepare yourselves for it, and put it down to the plague!  This morning’s unseen translation wasn’t bad.  I was able to make sense of all the French, most of the Latin and one of the German pieces1.  The viva is tomorrow morning.  I am really awfully lucky, for Jerry has to wait until Tuesday.  Tomorrow all the men are viva-ed, and about six of the Women.  Marjorie and I come among the six because we come at the top of the alphabet!  So I shall come home by the 5.45 train tomorrow, arriving at Paddington at 7.15 p.m.  I am going to send my box by goods rail, but shall bring everything else by hand, so please may someone meet me?

I am most frightfully tired and drowsy, so will not write any more, but will tell you all the news when we meet, including how the 1st year fell in at the regatta, and how I won the single punting race.

Your loving daughter,  Margot.

 

1Her knowledge of languages is impressive.  She had studied Greek for the entrance requirements to Oxford and is keeping up with her Latin, French and German.

Now comes the long vacation and the next letter will be posted  on 13 October 2015.

