13 October 1918

St. Hilda’s Hall

Oxford.

13.10.18

My dear Mother,

I didn’t send you a post-card last night, because I thought this would reach you just as soon.  I arrived quite safely, with all my impedimenta.  I took all the luggage in a cab while Joyce brought the two bykes(sic) along.  Una joined the train at Reading, and Mr and Mrs Broadbent, so your prediction proved correct.  They are staying at the “Isis”, up the Iffley Road.  Una has got into the Hall fortunately, and is in Gerry’s old room, over-looking the dogs’ home.

I have got the room I asked for.  It is very nice and big, and has two chests of drawers and a cupboard.  All my things have turned up, except the odd stocking, which I cannot discover anywhere.  By the way I left my brown silk stockings behind, so will you please send them on as soon as possible.  Also if you think it would be safe to send the corals, please do so, but it does not really matter.  Also if you can spare them, will you please let me have a candle and a box of matches?  And please send me as soon as possible my bed socks.  They were on that chair in the kitchen.  We are going to freeze this term – only allowed a fire once every five nights!  It won’t be so bad this term as next.

We have really got 23 freshers, 8 of them in 2 separate hostels – one in Cowley Place itself, and the other up the Iffley Road.  They seem quite a nice lot on the whole but they do swarm all over the place.  I had four to cocoa last night, including Una and my next door neighbour, who is the top History scholar.  This morning I took two Congregationalists to Mansfield, both from Yorkshire, one from Keighley and the other from Ilkley.  They are coming to tea with me today.

Daddy forgot to give me a cheque – I enclose a statement of accounts.  Please ask him to send it as soon as possible and to tell me how much he wants me to pay out of Auntie Hilda’s £10.  I can pay it all in this term if he would like.  I have written to Auntie Hilda.

I must now get tea for these two people, so will not write any more just now.  Much love to Daddie and Maxted.

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

P.S.  If you think it would be safe to send Doris’ photo, please do so, for there is a big gap on the top of my bureau that would just fit it.

 

£27

0

0

– Residence Fee

8

15

0

– Tuition

10

0

– Delegacy

£36

5

0

£36

5

0

– Total Fees

11

13

4

– Terminal scholarship and grant

£24

11

8

Next letter to be posted on 20 October 1918

