22 October 1918

St. Hilda’s Hall

Oxford.

22.10.18

                My dear Max,

Very many thanks for the little silver chain.  It is charming, and the pendant looks very pretty on it.

You will be pleased to hear that the bicycle is behaving splendidly.  I have not even had to pump it up yet.  The basket is also very useful and seems capable of bolding any amount of things in it.  This morning, for instance, I brought home 3 notebooks, a pair of gloves, a pair of spats and a cake in [sic], besides several other little things, my purse, diary, pen, etc.  My byke is absolutely invaluable here.  I go everywhere on it, although I have not yet arrived at riding along the towing path, as some rash spirits do – too bumpy!  Its rather like that switchback arrangement on Dulwich Common that you and Teddie are so fond of, the bridges go up and then down very steeply;

I am sorry you were done out of your match against Merchant Taylors – you might have met Norman Cole.  Does your being asked to play mean that you are in the first XV?

I am just off sculling, so must stop writing.  Please give my love to Teddie.  I hope that man at Norbury will do your byke soon.

Yours with love,

Margot.

St. Hilda’s Hall,

Oxford.

22.10.18

                My dear Mother,

Many thanks for your letter, and the handkerchieves, and the wee chain.  What a triumph for the Post Office!  I only posted my card at 10 a.m. on Monday morning, and your little parcel arrived by the first post this morning.

I feel very sad about Mrs Harris’ death.  She was such a cheery little woman.  Mrs Farrow is at present looking after the children with a sister of Mrs Harris.  The mortality here in the town is very high.  I think our own patients are taking a turn for the better.  Two are up and about.  We survivors are doing all the work.  I have constituted myself Muriel’s right-hand man.  Last night I made cocoa for five people and put them to bed.  This morning Muriel called me and I called the rest of the top landing, and then we both went downstairs to offer our services on the domestic staff. Muriel dusted the common rooms, while I helped lay the breakfast.  My cold is better and I keep out as much as possible – rowing this morning, and sculling this afternoon – so hope to escape, but you never can tell!

It is going to be rather awkward about my washing, for the laundry calls for and leaves the things at the same time, which means you want 3 of everything.  So could you send me another pair of knickers and a camisole?  One of my old camisoles will do.

I enclose bill and letter from the jeweller.  Could you please call, pay the bill, and ask him to send the ring here, and perhaps he would show it to you.

Your loving daughter

Margot.

Next letter to be posted on 28 October 1915

