10 November 1918

St. Hilda’s Hall,

Oxford.

10.l1.18

                My dear Mother

Many thanks for your letter which arrived this morning with the notes enclosed, and also for your parcel of yesterday.  I did not send any washing off after all, because none of that I had sent to the laundry turned up, so I could not discard what I really wanted washing.  However, yesterday it nearly all turned up again – some things marked “to follow”.  I could not send anything away this week, for two sets of underclothing were at the wash, so I am sending them to you.  Could I have one pair of stockings and a camisole before next Saturday?  The rest will do later.

Didn’t I tell about my getting the ring, and how pleased I was with it?  I am charmed with it.  It fits every finger on both my hands, but I usually wear it on the middle finger of my right.  I am so sorry not to have said about Lucy’s book.  I had an Unstead and Taylor1 once.  If I still have it, it is on the shelf of the cupboard in Maxted’s room.  It is quite small, with a blue cover.  By the way I had another birthday present this week.  Emmie sent me a very nice edition of Keats.  She says they leave Godalming on the 22nd.

I was very glad to see the money this morning, for I was literally left with a farthing. My washing bill is 5/6½ and the Carl Rosa are coming this week, to whom I must go once.  So there won’t be much left of my 10/-.  Last week’s expenses were rather heavy. – Emmie’s book, a French book I had to buy, which is necessary to my work on Napoleon, and a new mud guard on my front wheel – practically ran away with 10/-, and I have not yet paid my Bach Choir sub.  We are just beginning fresher’s cocoas now after the “flue” – and on your fire night2 you practically entertain all who are using it to cocoa.  The final blow is that we are expected to entertain the Senior Common Room this term, and not next, as we had fondly hoped!  I am sure we shall never get them all in.  All together I am financially on the rocks, and don’t see anything else ahead!

Isn’t the peace news good?  I wish I were at home just now.  I didn’t know you had the workmen in.  I am awfully sorry to hear that Auntie Flo is so ill.  I do hope you found her better today.  Did you write to Mrs Moore? I think I would like to go and see them soon.

I must tell you about our Melodrama.  It was written and produced by our 3rd year.  It was a kind of burlesque of Bella Donna3 – harem idyll – court poet – “horsey” but romantic Englishwoman with a husband named Algernon – result – they all kill each other!  The poet had written a poem, but he could not get beyond 4 lines – this was the poem

Chip, Chip

My little horse

My little horse

Chip, chip!

The Englishman provided him with an inspiration another line – i.e. an additional “chip chip”.  But you should have seen our S.S. as an extremely “Boozy” Sultan!  Most repulsive!

I really must stop now, as I am just off to a study circle – Love to Daddie and Max

Your loving daughter

Margot.

1Unstead and Taylor: ‘The Essential of World Geography’.

2A ‘fire night’ is presumably the one evening in the week when you can have a fire in your room.

3Bella Donna , a melodrama by the Irish playwrite, J B Fagan

Next letter to be posted on 15 November 2015

