2 February 1919

S. Hilda’s Hall

Oxford.

2.2.19

                My dear Mother,

Thank you very much indeed for your letter and parcel on Saturday, and for your post card this morning, which I was very relieved to see.  I felt rather anxious about Daddie after Auntie Lucy’s letter until your card came.  I can see that Auntie Lucy would enjoy coddling Daddie.  I am glad that Lizzie’s successor is so reliable and satisfactory in every way.

Have you had snow in London?  We wake up every morning to find the roofs and streets powdered with fine snow, but it never amounts to anything.  It just makes the pavements slippery, so that it is much safer to cycle than to walk anywhere.  Our punts and canoes look like remaining at Salter’s ad infinitum.  People were skating in the meadows today.

More changes are afoot here.  The Levett will depart from the Hall in lodgings in a few days time because she cannot sleep here.  She is going down for all next term, and will go abroad to recover her health, which is very frail, at present.  She is in such a bad state of nerves that there are times when she really doesn’t know what she is doing.  How we shall get on without her I can’t imagine, for the Hall leans on her for more than it is aware of.

I met Miss Coate yesterday, and she says she met Miss Thompson in the vac. in London, wrapped up in the Record Office.  Phyllis wrote to me this week saying that her father had had an attack of lung trouble, but is now better.  They are at home again, and Mr Callaghan hopes to be back at school on Monday.  Phyllis’ hospital work is fast diminishing, and she is bravely trying to make the best of it, but I know she will miss the occupation and excitement of it.  She sent me her photo in V.A.D. 1 uniform.

I have been elected W.E.A. representative.  We had one of the Secretaries to speak to us a New College Hall on Wednesday.  He was quite amusing.  As far as I can see, the W.E.A. 2 spends its time being photographed.

Please give my love to Daddie and Max, and also to Teddy, Betty and Keith.  I hope he is feeling better now.  Please tell me if you hear from Reggie.  The Rhodes boy is not in the Gazette list of undergrads so he has evidently not come up yet.

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

1V.A.D. – Voluntary Aid Detachment consisted mainly of women and girls trained in basic first aid to work in Britain but after 3 years’ experience and aged over 23 could be sent to the war zone.

2W.E.A. -Workers Education Association which still exists.

The next letter will be posted on 9 February 2016.

