2 March 1919

                St Hilda’s Hall,

Oxford.

2.3.19

                My dear Mother,

Thank you very much for the cake and stockings, and for your letter and the enclosed note.  The cake is delicious.  Many thanks also for the papers by this morning’s post, and the cuttings in the parcel.  I like the pictures of Princess Pat’s wedding1.  Could I have the combs as soon as possible?  I am sending the others home.

Mr King’s tea-party was great fun.  To begin with, Charlie King is a notorious person.  Every body knows him, and if you mention his name a smile goes round the company!  Even the B. smiled when I asked permission to go!  He is deaf, and has a way of trotting a footstool round and sitting underneath your nose in order to hear what you are saying.  He looks rather like an aborigine, being all over hair, and having a horrid habit of fidgeting.  But his notoriety is due to the fact that he is such a nuisance in public meetings.  Being deaf, he never knows when anyone is speaking or what they are saying, and he always gets up and says the wrong thing at the wrong moment!  He became such a pest at W.E.A. meetings that at length they put him on the committee to find an outlet for his energies.  Even there he is apt to appeal for subscriptions in the middle of a vote of thanks!

Well this bright youth has rooms in Long Wall, and there we went, five men, two women, a chaperone, and Mr King.  Mr Cohen, the little Lancashire man, was there, and he and I had a very interesting conversation.  He is such a sensible little man.  Bright, too!  He came up in 1914 with a Classics scholarship, and won a Classics prize.  He has been down during the war, and has now come up to read History.  I liked that tea-party.  After five weeks of nothing but women, to talk to four men at once was refreshing, and no easy job either, for they all talked at once!

The Levett actually said that my essay last week was “interesting”!  It is certainly the first time she has said such a thing about an essay of mine!  Perhaps it was the quotation from Tennyson at the top which intrigued her!  It was on Becket, and I really had enjoyed reading for it and writing it, although I thought the result was bad!  I am sure Grant Bobs would have been sniffy!

I am afraid I must stop now as the Study Circle has arrived – Love to Daddie and Max.

Your loving Daughter

Margot.

1Princess Pat, 1886 – 1974, was a granddaughter of Queen Victoria, who gave up her title and style on marriage to a commoner, Alexander Ramsay.

Next letter will be posted on 5 March 2016.

