4 May 1919

North Lodge

Old Headington

4.5.19

                My dear Daddie,

Thank you very much for your letter and the cheque, which I took to the B. this afternoon.  She had already given me her cheque for my grant.

I came up here on Friday, and have got a very nice large bed-sitting-room, with a glorious view from a bay window – scarcely any houses in sight.  Mrs Wheeler and Mrs Philipps, her daughter, are both extremely kind.  The house has a glorious old garden – rather in want of attention.  Mrs Wheeler says that people are too well off to work here!

There is no sign of the chicken-pox as yet, but I have had a most violent attack of indigestion.  It began on Friday and when I arrived here it was so bad that I could eat no dinner and went to bed about 7.0 p.m. with a hot water bottle.  When I woke up in the morning, it was quite gone, and I carried on a usual all day Saturday – rowed in the morning, worked all day, came out for a high tea at 5.0 and then went for a long cycle ride.  I took two doses of Baptisia during the day as a precaution, and went to bed quite happy.  At 2.0 a.m. I woke with a violent pain, and was kept awake till after 3 a.m.  This morning I breakfasted off tea and toast, lay in bed till 12.0, had no lunch, lounged about all day, and have just had a light tea.  What more would you do?  It seems to me very like one of your bad attacks.  I am very bored with life today, as I intended to cycle to Dorchester, but instead have scarcely dared to move.

Please let me know as soon as you can when you are likely to be at Oxford, as I want to ask Mr Cohen to tea to meet you.  I want your opinion on him.  It was rather decent of him to ask me to the Wadham Commem. Dance, wasn’t it?

There are two Conferences at Swanwick1 this year – one beginning on July 11th and the other on the 19th.  Jerry says that if I am chosen to go I may make my choice, so I shall choose the later one, as that will give me longer at home.  If I went to Swanwick on the 19th I should go to Heaton Moor some where about July 26th, which ought to be near Auntie Lucy’s date of breaking-up.  Will you write to her, or shall I?

On Thursday evening I went to the Union – that is the Undergraduates’ Parliament and heard a debate on the motion that this house deplores any departure from the principles of President Wilson in the settlement of peace.  The proposers felt that they had such a good case that there was no need to get it up, while the opposers betrayed the weakness of theirs by frivolity and personal recrimination – as, for instance – “Mr So and so, on May 5th, 1914, expressed an opinion diametrically opposed to the one he has just stated!”  The best speaker was our old friend “Earp”, the poet.  He drooped on the proposers’ side of the table, looked exactly one of the aesthetes in “Patience” and made witty – and sensible – remarks in a mournful drawl.  He said “What do we really know about the Peace Conference?  We hear that Japan is on the point of going, Wilson will go soon and that Orlando is coming back tomorrow.  Mr Ll. George comes home to tell us what we don’t know about the Peace, but only tells us what everybody except himself knew long ago about Lord Northcliffe!” and he ended with a quotation from “As you like it” – “Exit Orlando” – (pause and laughter) – Earp, unmoved, continues the quotation – “Exit Orlando – bloody and with sword drawn” – (Renewed laughter and applause) –

My best love to Mother and Max,

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

1Swanwick is a Christian conference centre in Derbyshire.

 

The next letter will be posted on 12 May2016.

