12 October 1919

12.10.19.

 

12.10.19.

My dear Mother,

We arrived quite safely yesterday.  No St.H.H. person was on my train, so I had a cab to myself.  I secured a cab and a porter in less time than I have ever taken at that station, and manage to get myself and all my luggage, including my byke, into a hansome in about 5 minutes.  There were not very many on the train.  It is very nice to be back again.

My room is quite nice.  I have just finished putting my pictures up.  This room is much higher than my last, so I had to stand on top of my Moab1 before I could reach the picture rail.  I wish you could see the view from my windows.  From one of them there is apparently nothing between me and Magdalen but trees and bushes just on the turn.  The river is quite hidden but you see the little white bridge, apparently crossing from bush to bush.

I have of course left a few things at home – my bed socks, tea and sugar.  Never mind about the sugar if you can’t spare any, but I would like a little of Aunt Ethel’s2 tea as soon as you can send it, if you don’t mind – about ½lb.

So far I have not been able to make head or tail of the freshers.  I have found Mrs Katsch’s friend, and two of those the B. mentioned in her letter.  The history one from Cardiff seems very nice.  I have asked her and Thompson to tea on Tuesday.

I saw Doris for a few minutes yesterday.  She looked pretty well, and had had a very good time during the holidays.  She is enjoying the novel sensation of being a Senior Mistress – three new-comers having taken a lot of odd jobs off her shoulders.

Ruth —, I can’t remember her surname, anyway she is an Old Student of ours at present coaching in Oxford, has just been in to say the Gwen Woodward is staying in the same house as herself.  I sent back a message saying that I would come and see her tomorrow.

My dearest love to Daddie and Max.  I hope the house is still standing.

Your loving daughter,

Margot

1Moab – the washstand, as in ‘Moab is my washpot’.

2Aunt Ethel is Margot’s mother’s younger sister, married to Cyril Evans, a tea planter in Sri Lanka, then called Ceylon.

The next letter will be posted on 19 October 2016

