31 October 1919

31.10.19

My dear Mother,

This letter is strictly private and confidential.  I want a little friendly advice.  You remember my adventure at Chinley?  Well Mr Bower1 sent me at the beginning of this term a snap of the Cam. which I admired at Chinley.  I wrote back and thanked him for it quite “definitively” and politely.  This morning I have again a very nice letter from him all about the S.C.M. and other activities in Cambridge.  The point is he proposes to continue the correspondence, unless I shew by not answering his letter that I do not care to do so.  What ought I to do?  I think it would be great fun to get news from Cambridge – I should enjoy it immensely.  But I don’t want any awkward developments.  Do you think it would be possible in a strictly friendly way?

I wish I had more experience in these affairs, but I am really frightfully young and innocent in this sort of thing.  I know that you had plenty of experience!

Isn’t there one of my photos still remaining?  I mean the large size?  This has nothing to do with the first part of the letter!  Joyce has asked me for one.  I would like the big one.  She found the extra proof which I had of that photo, with the supercilious expression, and refuses to give it up until I give her a really nice one.

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

1Mr Bower is the Cambridge undergraduate Margot met at Swanwick and travelled with to Stockport in the summer.

The next letter to be posted on 2 November 2016

