16 November 1919

16.11.19

 

My dear Mother,

Many thanks for your letter, parcel, and the note enclosed.  The blouses came beautifully.  I am delighted about “Parsifal”.  I hope the singers will be good.  The shortbread has been greatly appreciated – chiefly by Joyce, Evelyn, and myself, up to date.

I went to quite an interesting meeting last night.  Mr Asquith1 spoke to the Oxford Liberal Club at the Town Hall.  He spoke very well, but gave one the impression that he was played out physically and spiritually, though not mentally.  Mrs Asquith looked about 16 in figure and in the distance, and tried hard to flirt with our friend Earp, who drooped on the chair next to her.  Gilbert Murray2 took the chair, and gave it as his opinion that the last election was “profiteering in war passions”.

Sir John Simon3, Mr Spender4 and John Masefield5 also spoke.  I liked Sir J. Simon best.  Mr Spender said that the relations between statesmen and journalists were usually unholy alliances or unseemly recriminations.  I think I shall join the O.U Lib. Club.  How did you spend Armistice Day?

I must stop now, as our Study Circle must have begun without me.  I am sorry that this is such a scrappy note.  Please give my dearest love to Daddie and Max,

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

1Mr Asquith, former Prime Minister.

2Gilbert Murray – (1866-1957) was Regius Professor of Greek at Oxford.

3Sir John Simon, 1873-1954, politician and statesman, an ‘Asquithean’, a lawyer currently having lost his Spen Valley seat which he later regained.

4Mr Spender – Edward Harold Spender (1864-1926) was a British author, journalist and novelist. His works include The Story of the Home Rule Session (1893).

5John Masefield:  the successor as poet laureate to Robert Bridges who held the post in Margot’s time at Oxford.

The next letter to be posted on 23 November 2016

