29 February 1920

St Hilda’s Hall,

Oxon.

29.2.20

                My dear Mother,

Very many thanks for your letter, the note, and the parcel.  The shortbread was delicious, and much appreciated.  Quite half of it is already in the past tense.

I really do think Betty and the Major are the limit.  It was different during the war.  What on earth do they want to go to Algiers for now?  Really, people shouldn’t have children if they have no more sense of responsibility than that!  I really am fed up about it.

Daddie and I had a very nice time at the beginning of this week.  He arrived here on Monday at about 9.0 p.m.  We had lunch and dinner together on the Tuesday, which was rather a terrible day for me, as I had to squeeze a time paper somehow in between Daddie, and Toggers1, and shooting.

House I ended up Head of the River in great style, having never had its position threatened during the whole week.  They usually ended up a few lengths to the good.  Our chances in the Varsity race seem to be rather few.  I would love to see it.  I wonder whether Max will be free on the 27th?  I would like him to cycle over to Barnes Bridge with me.

We had quite a bright meeting of the Historical Society last Wednesday.  Carter of Queen’s read a most amusing paper on “Witchcraft” – he really succeeded in being funny, chiefly at the expense of James I.

On Tuesday evening we had a killing little artist here called Webb, who talked to us about the third dimension until our brains reeled.  We expected a rather dull art lecture, and came in for a very deep philosophical discussion.

My best love to Daddie and Max.  I am glad his arm is out of the sling, and hope it is not too troublesome while it is getting better.

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

1Toggers – oh dear! Oxford slang for Torpids.

S.H.H.

Oxon.

29.2.20

My dear Daddie,

Would you please send that stuff you promised me for our bazaar to –

The C.U. Secretary

Somerville College.

Please send it off early, so that it arrives before Saturday.  I will write to her about it.

I went and sat on the top of the dining room stairs on Tuesday after you had left, and heard the end of the debate, which seemed to be quite a good one.  Anyway the Twenty Club looked very nice all in evening dress – a very rare sight now in Oxford.

I am very fed up about the Faulkners.  I wish they would look after their own children.  It is really much too great a burden for Mother.  Couldn’t we have a maid now, Daddie, instead of when I come down?  Mother really ought not to have all those children in the house without help.  Couldn’t it be done if I didn’t go to Lyme Regis?

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

The next 2 letters will be posted on 7 March 1920

