7 March 1920

S.H.H.

Oxon.

7.3.20

My dear Daddie,

Very many thanks for your two letters and the cheque.  I decided to pay the latter straight into the  funds , as I wasn’t sure that I could make on it, and didn’t want to lose any of it.

I am so sorry not to have written before, but the bazaar made me frightfully busy, as I was senior member of the Hall committee.  I hear they made about £60 – rather a poor sum for such an affair, I think.  Of course, they did not get a great number of outsiders, not so many as a school could.  Also they got rather unsuitable things, and priced them too high to find buyers among a student population.

Miss Levett is firmly of opinion that I ought to have a fortnight’s holiday this vac, for the sake of my work.  She says I could probably have £2 or £3 out of the A.E.W. grant either this term or next, and in any case I could have £5 loan out of Hall funds straight away.  Will you please let me know as soon as possible what you think would be the best thing to do?

I have heard from Gwen.  She wants to know definitely whether I am coming with her, and I propose to write back and say that I will come, in view of the Levett’s decree.  The question of ways and means can be settled later.  Gwen has not yet fixed up rooms, but is busy negotiating.  She said last year it cost her and Olive £2/5/0 a week.  The fare is 37/- return to Lyme Regis.

I am so relieved to hear about the Faulkners’ change of plan.  It is just like them!

Your loving daughter

Margot.

7.3.20

Waac- WAAC – Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps

AEW fund:  The Association for promoting Higher Education of Women in Oxford

We would love to hear what you think about this letter from Margot

