11April 1920

at Bow House,

Lyme Regis,

Dorset.

11.4.20

My dear Daddie,

Very many thanks for the telegram and your letter this morning, and also for the purse and money, etc, all of which arrived quite safely.  The sum of money is quite correct – the odd 10/- is the one you gave me.  I am so thankful the purse turned up all right.  I will certainly write to Mr Brooker.  I suppose he picked it up at Clapham Junction Station.  It is lucky the food forms were in it.

We have had some very nice walks, in spite of the weather, which has been distinctly on the damp side, but with fair intervals.  Yesterday afternoon and evening were, however, beautifully fine.  We have been to Uplyme and Charmouth.  The country is glorious – covered with primroses – the bluebells are not quite out yet, but the cowslips are.  I will send Mother some as soon as they are dry enough to pack.

We get a lovely view of the coast from here, when it is not shrouded in cloud.  We can see Portland Bill quite clearly in the fine intervals.  Our favourite walk is along the Cobb – a quaint kind of harbour which serves the same purpose as a pier, without being so  banal.  There is very little sand here, I shouldn’t call it a good children’s place, except for an Easter holiday.

I haven’t done much work up to date.  Gwen won’t let me.  Also we have to take the fine weather when it comes, and walk while we can.  Still I hope to do some more this week.

Please give my love to Mother and thank her for the parcel.  I will write to her tonight, if I can, or if not – tomorrow.  Much love to Max.

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

The next letter will be posted on 15 April 2017.

