16 May 1920

St. Hilda’s Hall

Oxon.

16.5.20

                My dear Daddie,

This is going to be a very fiscal letter!1  To begin with, I am very sorry not to have acknowledged your cheque.  Under the stress of my visitors, I am afraid I forgot all about it.  I have withdrawn everything from my bank- book except the money for my schools week-end and a few odd shillings, to make up my fees.  I also owe Joyce £1 for my Hall and library sub , which I could not pay out of the £2 you gave to come up with, and £1 of that went on the Schools punt, 6/8 for my share of it and 12/6 tax which I have not yet recovered, and cannot till the end of term, because I get it back through the Co-op.

So much for that.  The next thing is, may I have £3 as soon as possible for Schools fee?  Also we are having a fête on Wednesday – stalls, side-shows, etc.  Is there anything suitable you could send me along – jam, chocolate, fruit!

Thirdly, I have discovered that people can live up here on the Government grant.  You get your fees for the training course paid outright, and about £35 for maintenance.  That works out at about 30/- per week for 3 terms of 8 weeks each.  Now Doris Coleman pays exactly that for board and lodging.  I should think that Joyce and I ought to be able to do on that if we digged together and shared a room, as we should if I trained here next year.  You can still be attached to your own college for all social purposes.

I have only just discovered this, through Bronwen, who is going to do it.  I have written to Miss Talbot, the Oxford Education secretary, for an appointment, to obtain exact information about the grants, which I will immediately pass on to you,

Now if I can get my fees paid and a maintenance grant which works out at 30/- per week, can I come back here next year?  Levett quite approves of the scheme.  It would relieve you of nearly all expense except pocket money and dress allowance, which I should want even in London.  Of course, I should love it above all things.  The training here is not so good as at London, but it is training, and it is very interesting, and less tiring, because you don’t have to travel so far afield as in London.

I have till June 15 before I need apply for the G.P.D.S.T. scholarship.  I cannot be sure of it – in fact I don’t think it likely that I shall get it.

Will you give me authority to act on my own in this matter?  If I can wangle it so that my expenses are practically covered?  Please let me know at once.

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

P.S. Very many thanks for the extra 10/- which was very grateful

1Over and over again the question of affordability comes up, but Margot seems to have had extremely sympathetic treatment from her parents, getting her way with their good grace – and trying her best to live within her/their means.

The next letter will be posted on 18 May 1920.

