5 June 1920

C/o Mrs Ashby,

Coldstones Farm,

Ascott under Wychwood,

Oxon.

5.6.20

                My dear Mother,

Very many thanks for the parcel.  The shortbread is delicious, and I was very grateful for the washing, likewise for the money.  By the way, I don’t know whether I ought to have the latter, as Daddie left me £1.  I will hold it over for the following week if you like.

I sent you off a parcel of washing just before we left Oxford, including my yellow and white frock which has got very dirty, as I have worn it a lot this term.  Could you let me have it back as soon as possible, as I may want it next week-end. May I also have back the silk pyjamas, as I don’t think the nightgown which I am wearing at present will last more than one week.

I enjoyed having Daddie in Oxford immensely, and I think he liked the sunset from my window, which he saw every evening.

5.6.20The crew and cox, Margot far left.5.6.20The crew and cox, Margot far left.

5.6.20The crew and cox, Margot far left.

We had a very nice eight this morning – the real eight.  Even Best was pleased with us!  We met the Kingston steamer on our way up, and it rather spoilt our time, but we came up from Iffley in 12 min. 45 sec.  Evelyn and I also had a very nice swim this morning.

I think we have got rooms for next year, just opposite Doris.  In fact it was Doris who got them for us.  We shall have either to share a bedroom or have one out.  There is quite a nice little sitting room.  We come to a final decision on Tuesday.

We had quite a jolly tennis party yesterday with our two friends from Worcester.  We were not outshone this time, in fact we played distinctly better than our partners, for Mr Ady is having to learn to play left handed, owing to a wound in his right elbow, while Mr Brand is really a rowing man.

This is a very quiet little village.  The farm house is old and rambling, with quaint old fire places.  Our bedroom has oak beams and latched doors, and the room where we have our meals has a round open hearth and two  chimney seats, all of which was accidently [sic] unearthed from behind a comparatively modern grate.

Mrs Ashby is well known to Miss Levett and Miss Coate.  She seems to have educated her children well, for one is an authority on agriculture at the school of rural Economy in Oxford, one daughter is teaching, and another was at Milham Ford School.

Gwen came to tea with us on Thursday.  She is only in Oxford for a week.  She looked very  well.

Much love to Daddie and Max.  I am glad we are fixed up all right for Buxton, but hope it will not prove a tiring holiday for you.

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

The next letter to be posted on 13 June 2017.

