13 June 1920

                                St Hilda’s Hall

Oxford.

13.6.20

My dearest Mother,

Very many thanks for your letters and parcel.  The frock travelled beautifully and looks thoroughly nice.  It has been invaluable this term.  I forget whether I told you that the hat was a great success.

I missed the parcel post on Saturday because it was raining so hard after I got home from the Schools at 5.0. p.m. that I decided not to get drenched, but I will send you a parcel of washing sometime during the week in order to relieve my luggage.

Evelyn and I had a topping time at Ascott, thoroughly quiet and lazy.  The weather was glorious.  Mrs Ashby and her daughter were most kind.  They fed us scrumptiously – real butter all the time – asparagus two days running for dinner, and potatoes mashed with butter.  We did a little walking.  The Cotswolds make glorious walking country, and although we were above the wooded region, the lanes and meadows were very pretty.  We also borrowed a boat from the Mill, which was our nearest neighbour, and paddled about on the Evenlode, in which we bathed one afternoon.

So far our papers have been boring in the extreme, though quite fair and possible1.  I do not feel as though I have done a single a question!  Of course I felt very fuddle-headed on the morning of the Pol. Sci. Paper –  Saturday and a Thunder Storm in the afternoon did not improve matters.  However, I have spent most of today in bed, and am glad to be alright for the foreign and special papers this week.

We have been very carefully looked after.  Doris took us to tea on the river on Thursday, Joyce gave us tea with strawberries and cream, the former from Evelyn’s own garden, on Friday, and on Saturday Evelyn gave me tea as she had no afternoon paper.

My Viva does not begin until July 7, so I shall come down on Monday, June 21st, as usual, probably by an afternoon train, if that will suit you.  I shall have to come up again for a night for my Viva.

We have settled up with the lady in William Street for the room opposite Doris – 25/- per week for the rooms.  I have to find a bedroom out, as we decided we would rather sleep separately.  Doris has done all the negotiation for us.

My dearest love to Daddie and Max.

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

1An enviable sang-froid about the exams!

The next letter will be posted on 20 June 2017.

