5 March 1921

19 Boulter Street,

St. Clement’s

Oxford.

5. 3. 21.

                My dear Daddie

I enclose a statement of a/cs for this term.  As you can see I have spent all my ready money, in fact, overspent it, the balance coming out of what Mother sent me last week end.

The reason for my only getting £5.0.0 from the government is that the Treasury, on revising the B. of Education a/cs, took exception to our being classed as resident students.  Hendy is at present fighting the case, but I fear very much that it will go against us, as the one passion of the Govt. at the moment is economy.  So I have for the present only received a day student’s grant.

I tried to borrow the balance from the Hall Loan Fund, but the bursar says that at the moment it is bankrupt.  She will however, see what she can do for me.  I hope you will anyway let me borrow the money from Uncle Jack, or someone else, if you can advance it to me in the mean time.

I have really tried hard to keep down the housekeeping bills, but cannot cut them any lower without cutting down necessities.  Miss Betnay charges me nearly 10/- per week in extras such as coal, lighting, kitchen fire, etc, and I can’t quite manage to live on 10/- alone.  When Joyce and I were together it didn’t come nearly so heavy on either of us.  Thank goodness we shall be together next term.  The rise in the last two weeks is mainly due to more fires, as I had a cold, so Miss B. insisted on my having a fire for breakfast.

I am so sorry to bother you after your late disappointment.

Your loving daughter,

Margot.

Housekeeping A/C

Dr £. s. d. Cr. £ S d
To Cheque 8 By Housekeeping
 “   Govt. 5

1st Week

2 15 11
 “  Balance 1 2

2nd    “

2 2 8

3rd    “

2 3 7

4th     “

2 4

5th     “

2 8

6th     “

2 8

Total             £

14 2

Total         £

14 2
Still needed
Balance 1 2
Hall and ‘Varsity Fees 1 13 4
Housekeeping7th and 8th Weeks 4
Journey home 1

Next letter to be posted on 6 March 2018.

We would love to hear what you think about this letter from Margot